The Red Dress

DSC_0040.3

“In every girl is a goddess.”

– Francesca Lia Block

~ ♥ ~

My daughter Collette is 15 months old this month, and if you don’t have children, you should know that every month is different with a baby or toddler. They learn something new every day, and in learning it they grow.

Now that Collette can remember the permanence of things, she’s getting favorites. Like her favorite stuffed puppy named Sugar, and her favorite red dress. Not only is the red dress her favorite, but it’s become a favorite of mine, and I can’t stop taking photographs of her wearing it.

A few months ago Marty’s mom sent us the dress (with some others) and we decided to put it on her because it was so cute and wanted to see what it looked like. It was big on her, but it was adorable, so naturally I took some pictures of her. Just as I was about to take a photo of her, she started to fall down and I captured it. It’s probably my favorite photo of her because she looks like she’s dancing.

DSC_0032.2

On Fourth of July we had Collette wear the little red dress again, and this time it fit her perfectly. She was adorable; dancing around and showing off. Running around in her dress made her incredibly happy, and she went up to everyone; showing it to them. We played in the grass for a while and she was sitting up and standing up, then sitting down again watching her dress poof up as she sat. Sitting in the grass she played with the shinies on her dress, and watched the boats on the lake and the occasional bird that landed in the grass. She was having so much fun!

DSC_0273.2

 With a nice little collection of red dress photos I decided to do something fun with them; making the image black and white but leaving the dress red (as you can see). I’ve got a nice handful of them, and I’m hoping to get some more. My goal is to do this with a different dress or outfit every year, and hopefully end up a book of her life made up of images like these.

 I originally got the idea from a photo I took of her the first time she got to play in the snow. She was wearing a blue snow suit and when I was editing the colors a little, I ended up taking out all the red and making the blue suit the only bit of color. I loved it. So, now that I’ve got the first two years of her life documented with fun photos, I have a good start for the rest of her childhood!

IMG_8946.2

 In a the next month or two, I’ll be making a Society6 for Collette. Sounds weird, I know. It’ll mostly be for our family to get photos of her and her paintings on pillows, shirts, or even a stretched canvas. Yes, you can get that stuff at a lot of places, like Wal-Mart, but through Society6 she can earn some money for her paintings. We’ll be putting everything she earns into her college fund. Yay for fun ideas! I grew up selling my drawings for a tiny price, and I want to start Collette early so that she’ll have some money saved up by the time she turns 18.

You’ll find these images on her page, and on my page soon. I’ll post a link to her page once I make it, and you can check it out if you’re interested in her little fingerpaintings!

~ ♥ ~

Thanks for reading today!

Photos are all of my daughter, and all of them are mine.

2 thoughts on “The Red Dress

Leave a Reply

