Growing Through Lenses

DSC_0480.2

“When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs.

When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence.”

– Ansel Adams

~ ☼ ~

My very first camera was a small yellow film camera. It was given to me by my fifth grade teacher, Mr. Daugherty. He bought a camera for every student in his class, and he held little photo contests every parent teacher conference. One picture from each student was hung on the wall with a small box under it. Each parent would vote on the photo they liked the most, and the winner got points towards their name. The points were used to bid/buy items that were donated by other students, usually posters, collectables, pencils, toys, film for our cameras, and various others (I still have a paper weight that has a full rose encased in it).

I’ve loved photography ever since.

After my little film camera retired I used a Kodak digital camera, and the thing was a brick. I hated it, but I only had it for a short time.

I asked for a new camera for Christmas in my freshman year of highschool. My mom bought me a Canon S5IS, and I fell in love all over again. It had a lot of settings, and 8 megapixels with a 12x optical zoom. Of course, I had no idea what all of that meant at the time, but it sure sounded cool. I had the best camera at school, and I was able to take some really awesome photographs. Animals have always been my focus, but with my Canon I was able to zoom in on them, and the photos didn’t come out blurry. Some of my best photos were taken with that camera, and it helped me grow as a person, and a photographer.

IMG_6656

As I got older, and cameras started to get better, I knew I needed a new camera. Retiring my Canon after six years was hard, but necessary. It moved with me from Minnesota to Arizona, then back to Minnesota, and then to Oregon and back again. Six years of my life were captured by that camera, and now it sits on a shelf in my living room gathering dust on its old, beaten up body.

After having our daughter, Marty and I got a nice tax return this year, and we used it to get ourselves something nice. Marty got himself a computer (of course), and I decided to retire my old Canon for a Nikon D5100. This is the first real DSLR that I’ve had, and I’m still learning how to use it. It’s heavier than my Canon was, and it feels so much better holding it’s weight in my hands. I carry a wide lens, and a zoom lens with me everywhere I go. Zooming in with my Nikon’s 300mm lens smashes my Canon’s little 12x optical zoom into the dust. The photos are crisper, and the colors are more vibrant, I love it, and I hope to have many great years with this camera.

DSC_0114.2

I’ve grown up a lot since my little film camera, and I only hope to grow more. Both as a person, and a photographer. So, a big thanks to my fifth grade teacher Mr. Daugherty for getting me started, and my mom for the awesome support!

~ ☼ ~

Thanks for reading.

All photos are mine.

Leave a Reply

