Family Ornaments

DSC_0456

“This peppermint winter is so sugar sweet,

I don’t need to taste to believe.

What’s December without Christmas Eve?”

– Owl City

~ ❄ ~

Every year for the Holidays, I make ornaments for the whole family. Last year I made thumb print reindeer ornaments with all of our thumbprints on it and sent one to everyone in our family. This year, I decided to switch it up a bit and try making these peppermint ornaments. It proved to be a slight challenge, but it sure was fun! To add a little bit more of a challenge and to switch it up a bit, I also made these out of blueberry and cherry candy canes so that everyone could pick their flavour.

I found the recipe for peppermint ornaments here!

I wanted these to be wrapped like a present for everyone, from all of us, but wrapping paper seemed like it would just add to the frustration, so I bought gift bags! The gift bags seemed empty with just a little ornament, so we made flavored hot cocoa mix for everyone and added that to the bags. Then Collette wanted to put one of her paintings into a bag, and I got the idea to make a small painting for each bag. They are getting really fun!

DSC_0310 DSC_0362 DSC_0318 DSC_0328 DSC_0326

~ ❄ ~

Everyone should try making these with their kids at least once. They are a lot of fun!

Happy Holidays!

Thanks for reading!

All photos taken by me.

Leave a Reply

